American Premiere Play by Lucy Kirkwood directed by Sarah Benson

The Welkin

By lucy kirkwood
directed by sarah benson

May 16 – JuNE 30, 2024
Linda Gross Theater

We are thrilled to welcome Tony Award nominee Lucy Kirkwood (The Children) alongside Obie Award winning director Sarah Benson (Fairview).



Sun, May 26

7:00 PM

Community Partner Preview

Goes on sale at 12 Mar 24, 12:00 PM

Fri, May 31

8:00 PM

Alumni Night

Goes on sale at 12 Mar 24, 12:00 PM

Thu, Jun 20

7:00 PM

Open Captioned Performance

Goes on sale at 12 Mar 24, 12:00 PM

Fri, Jun 21

8:00 PM

Community Theme Night & Talk Back

Goes on sale at 12 Mar 24, 12:00 PM

More Info

Rural England, 1759. As the country awaits the return of Halley’s comet, a young woman is sentenced to death. When she tries to escape the noose by claiming she is pregnant, twelve ordinary women are gathered to decide whether she is telling the truth. A dark, fierce, funny play about democracy and housework.

Tickets will go on pre-sale to members on Tuesday, February 27 at noon. Tickets will go on sale to the public Tuesday, March 12 at noon. For priority booking, best price on tickets, and exclusive benefits: Become an Atlantic Member.

The Welkin is made possible by a generous grant from The Roy Cockrum Foundation.

The Roy Cockrum Foundation – Founded in 2014 by Roy Cockrum and Benita Hofstetter Koman with winnings from Mr. Cockrum’s Powerball lottery jackpot, the Foundation’s mission is to award grants to support world-class performing arts projects in not-for-profit professional theatres throughout America. Since 2014, 38 flagship American theatres and performing arts organizations have received major grants from the Foundation. Inspiration for its mission derives from a Camus quote: “Without culture, and the relative freedom it implies, society, even when perfect, is but a jungle. This is why any authentic creation is a gift to the future.” ― Albert Camus, The Myth of Sisyphus and Other Essays.

The Welkin is also being produced with the generous support of FourthWall Theatrical and The Laura Pels International Foundation for Theater.