American Premiere Play by Lucy Kirkwood directed by Sarah Benson

The Welkin

By lucy kirkwood
directed by sarah benson

May 16 – JuNE 30, 2024
Linda Gross Theater


We are thrilled to welcome Tony Award nominee Lucy Kirkwood (The Children) alongside Obie Award winning director Sarah Benson (Fairview).

THE WELKIN

CHOOSE A PERFORMANCE

Tue, May 21

7:00 PM

Seats are LIMITED!

Limited Availability

Wed, May 22

8:00 PM

For access to sold out performances, consider joining Atlantic’s Patron Program with a donation of $3,000.

Sold Out

Thu, May 23

7:00 PM

For access to sold out performances, consider joining Atlantic’s Patron Program with a donation of $3,000.

Sold Out

Sat, May 25

8:00 PM

Seats are LIMITED!

Limited Availability

Sun, May 26

2:00 PM

For access to sold out performances, consider joining Atlantic’s Patron Program with a donation of $3,000.

Sold Out

Sun, May 26

7:00 PM

Get Tix

Tue, May 28

7:00 PM

Seats are LIMITED!

Limited Availability

Wed, May 29

8:00 PM

For access to sold out performances, consider joining Atlantic’s Patron Program with a donation of $3,000.

Sold Out

Thu, May 30

7:00 PM

Seats are LIMITED!

Limited Availability

Fri, May 31

8:00 PM

Seats are LIMITED!
Alumni Night

Limited Availability

Sat, Jun 01

2:00 PM

Seats are LIMITED!

Limited Availability

Sat, Jun 01

8:00 PM

Get Tix

Sun, Jun 02

2:00 PM

Seats are LIMITED!

Limited Availability

Sun, Jun 02

7:00 PM

Seats are LIMITED!

Limited Availability

Tue, Jun 04

7:00 PM

Seats are LIMITED!

Limited Availability

Wed, Jun 05

8:00 PM

Seats are LIMITED!

Limited Availability

Thu, Jun 06

7:00 PM

Seats are LIMITED!

Limited Availability

Fri, Jun 07

8:00 PM

Get Tix

Sat, Jun 08

2:00 PM

Get Tix

Sat, Jun 08

8:00 PM

Get Tix

Sun, Jun 09

2:00 PM

Get Tix

Sun, Jun 09

7:00 PM

Get Tix

Tue, Jun 11

7:00 PM

Seats are LIMITED!

Limited Availability

Thu, Jun 13

7:00 PM

Get Tix

Fri, Jun 14

8:00 PM

Get Tix

Sat, Jun 15

2:00 PM

Get Tix

Sat, Jun 15

8:00 PM

Get Tix

Sun, Jun 16

2:00 PM

Get Tix

Sun, Jun 16

7:00 PM

Get Tix

Tue, Jun 18

7:00 PM

Get Tix

Wed, Jun 19

2:00 PM

Get Tix

Wed, Jun 19

8:00 PM

Audio Described Performance

Get Tix

Thu, Jun 20

7:00 PM

Open Captioned Performance

Get Tix

Fri, Jun 21

8:00 PM

Community Theme Night & Talk Back

Get Tix

Sat, Jun 22

2:00 PM

Get Tix

Sat, Jun 22

8:00 PM

Get Tix

Sun, Jun 23

2:00 PM

Get Tix

Tue, Jun 25

7:00 PM

Get Tix

Wed, Jun 26

2:00 PM

Get Tix

Wed, Jun 26

8:00 PM

Get Tix

Thu, Jun 27

7:00 PM

Get Tix

Fri, Jun 28

8:00 PM

Get Tix

Sat, Jun 29

2:00 PM

Get Tix

Sat, Jun 29

8:00 PM

Get Tix

Sun, Jun 30

2:00 PM

Get Tix

More Info

Rural England, 1759. As the country awaits the return of Halley’s comet, a young woman is sentenced to death. When she tries to escape the noose by claiming she is pregnant, twelve ordinary women are gathered to decide whether she is telling the truth. A dark, fierce, funny play about democracy and housework.

The Welkin is made possible by a generous grant from The Roy Cockrum Foundation.

The Roy Cockrum Foundation – Founded in 2014 by Roy Cockrum and Benita Hofstetter Koman with winnings from Mr. Cockrum’s Powerball lottery jackpot, the Foundation’s mission is to award grants to support world-class performing arts projects in not-for-profit professional theatres throughout America. Since 2014, 38 flagship American theatres and performing arts organizations have received major grants from the Foundation. Inspiration for its mission derives from a Camus quote: “Without culture, and the relative freedom it implies, society, even when perfect, is but a jungle. This is why any authentic creation is a gift to the future.” ― Albert Camus, The Myth of Sisyphus and Other Essays.

The Welkin is also being produced with the generous support of FourthWall Theatrical and The Laura Pels International Foundation for Theater.

Atlantic is committed to connecting deeply and authentically with audiences from a broad range of economic backgrounds, ages, ethnicities, and perspectives. Our Access25 ticket initiative makes $25 tickets available to every preview performance in the 2023|2024 Season. Access25 tickets are sold on a first come, first served basis beginning 2 weeks prior to the first performance of each Atlantic Theater Company 2023|2024 production. $25 access tickets for The Welkin will go on sale Thursday, May 2 at noon ET.